Hey that’s a fake!

You have seen them and no doubt been to a few: ‘Fairs in the park,’ where vendors and artisans present their wares, mostly one of a kind pottery, paintings, wood carvings, tapestries, and all kinds of interesting stuff.

I had on  display  a side table, nothing really unusual, except for the painted top. I rendered it in shades of green to replicate a slab of marble. The prep time took months as there was sanding, priming, layering, more sanding, application of color, more sanding, layering of glazes, more sanding with each one being more and more finer.

After the color, shadowing, and veining was just right, there was the varnishing, with again each coat becoming finer and finer, lastly a wet sanding of 2000g, until at last it resembled glass and fine green marble. It turned out pretty nice.

After several people appreciated the table and asked about the technique, a fellow examined the darn thing for half an hour until he finally decided the piece was a fraud. He said it was not painted. Imagine my elation!   ‘You didn’t make that!’

But he continued and was adamant that I was falsely representing the table.  I must have been given an extra dose of patience that day, for I spoke with him in the most gracious way possible. But he walked away being an unbeliever. Hmmm.

Here he was, within arms reach of the ‘creator,’ I being 100 per cent truthful, showing him the evidence, and ‘How’ I finished such a work, and he refused to give the builder credit for his own work. Really, he gave me the highest of compliments; it was not my intention to deceive anybody, but that’s how HE took it. What more could I have said to him before he believed. Did he not accuse me of being a liar?

Yet men refuse to see that they perhaps may be the same liar having even more evidence than a painted table.

His ‘explanation’ as to why my table was not painted was legendary. No maligning here of engineers, but too often, our minds over-rule common sense.

Is not this the heart of  man? To stand within 6 inches of understanding, having all the proof one could need, testimony, even speaking directly with the creator, and still refusing to believe?  Seeing all that is, and still saying adamantly ‘No!’  But really, I did feel sorry for such a person, so unable to take somebody at their own word.

If men cannot believe something having seen……………I may venture a guess that the fellow who doubted my table could not possibly have room in his enlightened mind for  a God who could create all that is.

It’s pretty easy to see a Creator, just look around, and use your head.  Evidence abounds.

About ColorStorm

Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Unbelief (ahem: atheism) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hey that’s a fake!

  1. Wally Fry says:

    Nice…Ray Comfort would be very proud of you!

    Like

  2. Oh, I like this very much! Well said. I bet it’s a lovely table, too.

    I’m a bit jaded, have a tendency to be cynical, always ready to spot a fraud. “We don’t get fooled again,” as the song goes. Long ago God simply pointed out that I was going to subscribe to one bill of goods or the other. There are only two options, One who is worthy of your trust and one who is not. There is no existing above the fray, no state of limbo were one gets to pre-emptively sneer at the fraud allegedly all around you. That in and of itself is a deception.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      Yea, somebody else thought it was half-way decent too, they bought it…. 😉

      ‘One who is worthy.and one who is not…………’ (wheres my triple like button?) and I’m reminded by ‘a thoughtful writer’ there is ‘this thing called discernment.’ which makes the frauds usually instantly recognizable. It’s not like you go out of your way looking, but ‘my sheep hear MY voice’ kinda thing.

      Other voices? ehh, not so much.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. archaeopteryx1 says:

    It’s pretty easy to see a Creator, just look around, and use your head. Evidence abounds.” – I thought that too, when I was a child, then I became a man and put aside childish things.

    Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      nice arcH-

      A reference to scripture there, 1 Corinthians 13 if others care to know. Seems you had it right when you were a child. (child like faith) but…

      I would be curious as to your opinion of the man who ‘dissed’ the table. Your two cents.

      Like

    • kcchief1 says:

      My question would have been, “Did he touch it ? Did he try and pick it up ?” Vendor tables are usually so lightweight they can barely hold the merchandise. He surely would have known it was not marble had he picked it up.

      Where am I going wrong here ?

      Liked by 1 person

      • ColorStorm says:

        Yes, KC

        He picked it up, touched it, Marble can be had in various thicknesses, but as was noted, it was the highest of compliments, with the greatest of doubt.

        There are so many things going on with that scene, but I wouldn’t want to bore you any further, heck,I could come up with a mini-series 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    • kcchief1 says:

      I’m not trying to take away that you must be a good craftsman, Colorstorm.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. archaeopteryx1 says:

    I gotta say, Wally – Ray sure is fond of his bananas, isn’t he?

    Like

  5. Written For Our Instruction says:

    Your ability to create a marble-like piece takes great patience and skill. I know a few “professional” painters who do this for a living, making wood pieces look like marble. It’s quite amazing.
    And much like your table, this post is very good and very well done.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

