Ode to Johnny Cash, hurt

In 1994 Johnny Cash wrote this letter to June. Some say it is one of the finest love letters ever penned.  Lend an ear to the song also.

 

Image result for johnny cash

 

Happy Birthday Princess,

We got old and got used to each other. We think alike. We read each others minds. We know what the other wants without asking. Sometimes we irritate each other a little bit. Maybe sometimes we take each other for granted.

But once in a while, like today, I meditate on it and realize how lucky I am to share my life with the greatest woman I ever met.

You still fascinate and inspire me. You influence me for the better. You’re the object of my desire, the #1 Earthly reason for my existence. I love you very much.

Happy Birthday Princess.

John

 

And this song, ‘Hurt,’ a remake of T. Reznors version that he said Johnny ‘owned,’ is in my opinion, the pinnacle of his career. The man in black knew he was dying, and this song is his epitaph. Consider the phrase ‘my empire of dirt.’  The vid is mesmerizing, the music haunting but beautiful, the tune simple but intense.  John’s face and wrinkles tell life’s story, and June is on the same page.

The first time I heard this many years ago,  there was an impression within moments, and my appreciation has never diminished. Listen carefully, and you will hear another love letter.  Go full screen, turn up the volume a tad, and be moved.

 

 

 

About ColorStorm

Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Celebrities and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Ode to Johnny Cash, hurt

  1. thetruthisstrangerthanfiction says:

    Oh man, Johnny nailed it with his reworking of that song…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wally Fry says:

    Talk about a timeless performer…those two…some combination.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. archaeopteryx1 says:

    Finally – you did something right!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. madblog says:

    Cash’s cover is remarkably different than Trent Reznor’s original but both are awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, that was just lovely. So bittersweet, but so awesome. An empire of dirt indeed. That is why we are to store up our treasures in heaven. The man in black, what a beautiful legacy he left behind for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mzpresser says:

    Wow

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mother Hen says:

    I came across this a few years ago.. I will go back to listen once again. Thank you for the reminder!

    Like

  8. Psalm 150 says:

    The accolades, awards, and trophies of this life are worthless. Life if full of vanity and emptiness when not walking with the KING of kings and the LORD of lords. We all try to avoid the path of suffering, yet is it not the best that could ever happen to us. Does not suffering make us more like Jesus. I am sure that is what Johnny C. would tell us in his last days here. May we all remember God is not the God of the dead, but of the living. Thank you ColorStorm.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for reminding me of Cash’s powerful rendition of this song, intense and moving. More and more I find myself thinking of the shallowness of life on earth and how grateful I am to know my true life and my treasure is secure in heaven. Good post, CS!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wally Fry says:

    ColorStorm I’ve been meaning to say this since you posted this and keep forgetting. I actually work in Johnny Cash’s birthplace once a week or so…and pass thru more than that.

    Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      Cool enough Wally.

      He said ‘Johnny’ was the good one, and ‘Cash’ got him into trouble when he was young, thus validating what all believers know as to the two natures, but from what I can tell, the ‘Johnny’ in this later years, in which the vid proves, was a darn good man.

      That said, I know and so do you, that we had our share of ‘Cash.’ 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  11. ColorStorm says:

    Well, there is always ‘the rrrrrrrest of the story.’ But some tales are better off not told.

    Thank God not only does He forgive, but forgets completely and perfectly.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

