Here a storm, there a storm

Tornadoes out west, ice storms in the north, hurricanes in the south, tsunamis in the east, hail storms, thunder storms, sand storms, snow storms; these are the obvious, then you have the political storms of people against people, nation against nation, the economic storms of monetary collapse, the religious storms of murder and mayhem,  and the sad storms of unbelievers as they increase in pride: there is no God!

A reasonable person would almost faint at the patience of God.

Image result for bow and arrow

Perhaps Mr Dawkins and his disciples of learning (or should I say unlearning) should be a little slower to speak of the so-called brilliant age of enlightenment, for bowling ball size stones of hail will be coming to a town near you, and the fist of man will be clasped even firmer toward the Creator. How dare you bring this storm!

The energy of the earth is being sapped by godlessness, and all things continue as they were, man ever proud of his achievements apart from He who gives man breath. The whole earth GROANS because of the vice, crime, and the simple fact of sin, yet man does not see nor care. Ha! He sees, but does not care, hence he does not see.

A man will see three thousand days of goodness, and take for granted every beat of his pulse, but will in his massive arrogance berate God for a wind storm that blew down his basketball hoop.  Hmmm.

God has given men the finest storm of all, and unfortunately, His witness goes unheeded. There is a storm raging in the soul, and the waves can only be quieted by the truth of the Creator. After all, He who made the mind included the map which leads to the chief Cartographer. He is that still small voice of honesty and reason.

The conscience is the quiver which holds the arrows of truth that all men suppress, and which gives man no excuse. Some storms are better than others, and a stirred heart is a very good maelstrom if I may say.

Tornadoes, hurricanes, tsunamis? Yes, storms of the highest order, and you will notice I did not include earthquakes, but these too have God’s seal of approval as they all testify of natures God, and the God of all grace.

Remember the Lord in the boat when the great storm arose? Lives were feared, and He merely ‘spoke a word,’ and immediately there was a great calm. God offers us today this same ‘great calm,’ that when the storms of unbelief, doubt, despair, and grief come a calling, we can remember that the greatest storm of all was placed on him, and He endured the wrath of God against ALL ungodliness on Golgotha’s hill and Calvary’s central tree.

Judgment and mercy, belief and unbelief, grace and truth, heaven and hell, scripture and opinion; these all testified as the rocks cried out.

This was the storm of storms, and by comparison we have no proper response other than:

I will render thanksgiving for this unspeakable gift.

About ColorStorm

Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Exhortation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Here a storm, there a storm

  1. Planting Potatoes says:

    and I will stand with you in giving thanks to God – even in the storm! Good words!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. archaeopteryx1 says:

    But it’s ‘Just a little storm’ —

    The energy of the earth is being sapped by the destruction of the rain forest due to the greed of big corporations and the ignorance and poverty of the men who must log for them to feed their families. By the destruction of the ozone layer from the overuse of florocarbons, which is just now beginning to repair itself. By the pollution of the air by industry and the internal combustion engine. By the pollution of the waterways due to waste dumping and runoff of toxic chemicals. By the annihilation of hundreds, if not thousands of creatures, as Humans, choosing not to avail themselves of birth control for religious reasons, overpopulate the planet, destroying their natural habitat. By the over-fishing of the sea, again to feed an absurdly large human populace. All of which were caused by Humans and rectifiable by Humans if they can ever get their heads out of fairy tales and wake up to the fact that this is the only world we have. It is said that two hands working are worth a thousand clasped in prayer.

    Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      Gee arch,

      One would think that in your deification of man, there would be no room for such chastisement of the ‘enlightened ones,’ soooooo much better in intellect that you ‘bronze age nobodys.’

      But rest assured, there are no surprises to the Creator, and you conveniently have missed the bowling ball size hailstones. Yea, like that happened two thousand years ago.

      Wake up.

      Like

  3. “There is a storm raging in the soul, and the waves can only be quieted by the truth of the Creator”
    Brilliant my friend
    Yes it is so easy to quake with fear in the face of both storms of nature and storms of man but it is to the one true Redeemer who throws His children the lifeline of Salvation—when all is said and done and this earth passes away, the Word of God shall endure. . . .
    Might need an umbrella my friend as it seems some are already slinging mud your way. . . 😉
    Jules

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      Umbrella? This might get you comment of the week 😉

      But yes, nothing satiates like the word of God.

      Like

      • archaeopteryx1 says:

        But yes, nothing satiates like the word of God.” – Have you tried a really good Reuben sandwich, with a dill pickle spear? Mmmm, heavenly.

        EDIT: I have no desire to answer this. Any body else, be my guest.

        Like

        • Wally Fry says:

          Here’s an answer. How’s that pulse doing?

          Like

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          It’s great – just had my annual checkup, cholesterol is down and I’m as healthy as a horse. You do know, Wally, that we all die – after that, there’s nothing and I’m strong enough to accept that. If you’re afraid, and feel you need a fairy tale to get you through it, who am I to judge you?

          Like

  4. Wally Fry says:

    I know He calms the storms in my soul every day and there are plenty. That is my main proof of the reality of The Spirit in me that calming of my storms.

    Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      Plenty eh?

      I like that W; proof of a stirred heart.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wally Fry says:

        Indeed plenty brother. But some would only mock that as a sign of trauma right?

        Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Trauma? Yea, the same way some say the apostle Paul had brain damage.

          Liked by 1 person

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          I would certainly say it sounds like you could benefit from some professional counseling —

          Like

        • Wally Fry says:

          Why is that? Certainly not because I am chasing people around just to insult them

          Like

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          Because of all of the storms you said you had inside you.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Wally Fry says:

          Hey Arch

          You know, that is actually a reasonable statement you just made. I will take it as a question, and a reasonable one at that. I will attempt to more fully explain what the previous statements were about. I don’t really want to, but I have been in prayer about this and really am feeling led to address what you have said. The reason I don’t want to is that my answer is going to expose me somewhat and, or course, there is the strong possibility that some will use this as an excuse for mockery and ridicule. I hope you do not.

          I will tell you some about my storms..where they came from and where they progressed to.

          My youth was, sadly, a pretty typical youth story. At least it was where I grew up. Drunk dad, divorced parents..blah blah and all of that. Most of the formative years of my early youth, say preteens and early teens were spent being the poor, smaller than average size white kid in inner city schools. Needless to say, that was somewhat problematic. Sometime later, I progressed onward to become the poor, somewhat smaller than average sized city kid in country schools. Also somewhat problematic. What I discovered was a world where apparently I was not welcome anywhere. To say I have been beat down(literally) more than a yard dog would be an understatement.

          Many thanks to a mother who told me constantly that I was not trapped in that life, because I managed to wrest myself from it and go on to better things.

          Unlike some I know, I managed to actually finish high school without being addicted or jailed. The next about 12 years were spent under the tutelage of the University and the United States Army.

          Well, what emerged from that was a fellow who had learned that he was at tough, hard, mean, smart and educated as anybody else, if not more so than most.

          To say I used my newly developed life skills wrongly would also be an understatement. I swore I was never going to be in the receiving end of any mistreatment again for as long as I lived. I pretty much became somewhat of a brute and ogre in the way I l dealt with people. I you were on my side, I could love you until the world ended, but woe unto all others.

          Did I need help? Sure did. Would professional counseling have helped? Probably so. It might amaze you to know that I think that is entirely useful in some circumstances.

          OK..on to my actually point. I had never actually had much exposure to religion and church for most of the 45 years of my life. My extended family was mostly Christian, but I just avoided or ignored it. Long story short, my infatuation with a pretty girl led me to start going to her church, just so I could hang, and I was converted and saved.

          Here is the deal Arch. On of the realities of my salvation is the almost instant change that occurred at that very moment. I didn’t necessarily change my behaviors instantly, but I sure changed the way I thought about them. Still working on the changes, in fact. I am still clay being shaped by the fingers of The Holy Spirit.

          Do I still become angry? Can I still be brutish? Sure. To this day, the idea of a good physical brawl actually makes my heart beat faster.

          Here is the point. Storms. I was full of them. Jesus through the power of the Holy Spirit is calming them. I still err, and I still sin…but now I don’t WANT to.

          Hope that helps.

          Liked by 3 people

        • ColorStorm says:

          A good raw knuckles and tender hearted word brother.

          Liked by 2 people

        • Wally Fry says:

          Thanks ColorStorm.

          Liked by 1 person

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          That’s very revealing, Wally, and no, I won’t use it against you, but I must say to you what the “Wizard” said to the Tin Man, the Scare Crow and the Cowardly Lion – you had it in you all the time.

          It might amaze you to know that I think that is entirely useful in some circumstances.” – Yeah, it does – so many theists I’ve met seem to think that therapy is bunk. And indeed, some therapists are full of it, much like some ministers. I was privileged to know a minister who was one of the most honest and sincere people I’ve ever met.

          Oh, and I solved the bullying problem by deliberately making friends with the biggest kid in school. He was dumb as a doorknob, but I was untouchable for years – all I had to say was, “Kill, Mongo!”

          Like

        • Wally Fry says:

          Actually, once the friend who saved me was the biggest girl in school LOL. Not nearly as embarrassing to me as the boys she ran off!

          Like

  5. Beautiful ColorStorm. Well said.

    I love a good storm. Sometimes I get to watch them blow in off the ocean. You can really feel the power of God’s strength there. We are very small, He is not.

    We can actually walk on water in the midst of those storms if we keep our eyes on Him. Than there are the people who come along and try to criticize, because obviously all the people walking on water are only doing it because we don’t know how to swim.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      Agree, there is something so humbling, yet magnificent as to the ‘voice’ of thunder.

      Not sure how this voice cannot be interpreted correctly by any person who has eyes and ears.

      But ‘don’t know how to swim?’ You are so not right insanitybytes; love the idea.

      Liked by 1 person

    • archaeopteryx1 says:

      Or you just can’t afford a jet-ski —

      Like

  6. thetruthisstrangerthanfiction says:

    speaking storms…..

    EDIT: Tistf-

    Tkx truth, but for the sake of others who send links that are not given air time, I must be consistent and fair. I have heard such things for many years; its just not a good forum here, hope you can appreciate it.

    If anybody is interested, please see this poster’s web site for strange truth and solid scripture defending.

    Like

  7. And, as you know, even greater and more terrifying storms will come in the last days and people will continue to shake their fists at God – we should not be surprised that the storms of today are any different.
    Yes CS, as you point out so well, the One who gives permission for the storm, speaks, at least for now, in his quiet voice. Grateful for his patience today!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Appreciate the grand trumpeting of His glory and the denunciation of man’s hubris.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

