Lion Mauls American Tourist…

Sad story here, but I happen to respect lions. Condolences to the family, but hold no malice toward the king (and in this case queen) of beasts.

As an aside, today we may be called upon to surrender our souls; it appears with the window up, this appointment could have been delayed.

via Lion Mauls American Tourist to Death at South Africa Wildlife Park – Breitbart.

Image result for lioness

About ColorStorm

Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Lion Mauls American Tourist…

  1. archaeopteryx1 says:

    So what did the guy do to deserve that – call some old guy bald?

    Like

  2. JunkChuck says:

    There are worse ways to go than directly back into the food chain. Like Zombies. That would be the worst. And drowning. I’d rather go with my hands around something’s neck, fighting to the end, than I would just struggling for air. That said, Lions scare me. That old movie, with Val Kilmer and Mike Douglass–they’re hunters in Africa–Ghost In The Darkness; gave me nightmares for weeks after.

    Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      Lions scare ya? I suppose they scare lots of people, hence the warning to keep windows up……….

      In the ‘evolutionary’ chain of things,
      I wonder what excuse is given for the most majestic of creatures as to his ‘past.’

      Me, I’m stickin with the plain old lion, as is.

      Like

      • archaeopteryx1 says:

        uh huh, and a non thinking mass of goopile designed the saber…..” – When did you find time to do that?

        Like

  3. My goodness. One hardly knows what to say to such a story.

    “..today we may be called upon to surrender our souls” Yes indeed, but actually we can surrender our souls right here and right now, place them in the hands of He who made them, and be at peace. That way if you’re ever leaning out the car window in lion territory, you can be assured all will be well one way or another 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Absolutely tragic—we all want to just get so close– so close that we bet just one little pat on the head will be okay. . .such is the draw animals have on our hearts. . .
    I was glad to hear that they would not euthanize the lioness—
    We are never exempt from Nature, no matter where we may be. . .maintaining a constant healthy respect be it for wildlife, weather or a surrounding eviron—the allure of hiking up a waterfall, body surfing in the surf where the sharks were last spotted—-the thoughts of “not me, never me.” . .are our famous last words. . .

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      The cars in those places kind of make it an ‘unnatural’ environment; and the lions probably get tired of the ‘attention.’

      Have to feel sorry for the family, tragic really. ‘Respect’ for wildlife as you say jules, is first and foremost, there.

      Like

      • archaeopteryx1 says:

        we all want to just get so close– so close that we bet just one little pat on the head will be okay. . .” – I knew a guy like that once – I’ll never forget old Lefty —

        Like

  5. Wally Fry says:

    Indeed we never know suppose that is we are told today is the day of salvation as tomorrow may not come. Good stuff friend

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      Didn’t we say Wally recently it is easier to believe Moses lived than to believe we will live to see tomorrow?

      Sad account here of this family, and I suppose some are thinking it is God’s fault…………….

      Liked by 1 person

      • archaeopteryx1 says:

        I suppose some are thinking it is God’s fault…………….” – Well, if you insist your god is in charge of everything, who else is there –?

        Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          So I suppose it is God’s fault when you jump off a building and die……………because you said ‘He will protect you……………’

          Or eat rat poison to tempt Him………….

          Yea, good luck with that excuse.

          Like

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          “>em>Or eat rat poison to tempt Him………….” – You don’t?

          <

          blockquote>Mark 16:17-18
          “And these signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will cast out demons; they will speak in new tongues; they will pick up serpents with their hands; and if they drink any deadly poison it will not hurt them;”</blockquote

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          You reeeeeeeeeeeaally should stay away from sharp objects such as the two edged sword of the word of God.

          There is nothing worse than a mocking man trying to interpret scripture that he thinks is a fable.

          Do you ever notice how you continually drive OFF ROAD regarding each and EVERY post you comment on……….and you wonder why you are moderated.

          A woman dies from the hand of a lioness, and here you are with nonsense that is not so amusing.

          Like

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          A woman dies from the hand of a lioness” – Almost forgot, the only place where lionesses have hands on in “The Lion King” – “gaping maw,” quite likely – but hands? Not so much.

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Read the thread arch-
          You have no claim.

          It is your perpetual challenge to truth that engages opposition at every turn.

          By the way, it is ‘deadly thing,’ not deadly poison as you allege.

          A woman died at the hands of a wild animal. God is not to blame. Case closed. Please do not embarrass yourself further.

          Like

        • Ashley says:

          Wally,

          “As to the basic answer to your question. I believe God is control of all things.”
          I am glad you answered my question. If that is in fact your view, then your position mandates that God be blamed for all the bad things happening as well as given credit for all the good things happening because he controls EVERYTHING. Right? If that’s the case, then you do not have an argument with me, you have an argument with CS. I’ll leave the 2 of you to duke it out in that regard.

          Like

      • Wally Fry says:

        Well, technically, You said it! I did, however read it. And yes, people love to blame God. I suppose it’s part of our nature, even as believers to get angry at God when something bad happens, and I get that. I don’t get the non believers who are that way, after all He doesn’t exist, right? Kind of like getting mad at the Easter Bunny for the wrong color eggs.

        Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          No fair Wally; you used common sense!

          Wrong color eggs……………. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          No fair Wally; you used common sense!” – I can certainly see, CS, why you would say that – as the two of you are as oil to the water of common sense. What passes between you as “common sense,” is NONsense to the rest of us.

          Like

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          I don’t get the non believers who are that way” – Let me ‘splain it to you, Wally, WHY you don’t “get” us – the reason is simple, really – we don’t blame your god when something bad happens. What we do, is point to those like you who DO believe, and ask how you could believe in an “omnipotent” god that would allow such bad things to happen? There’s a significant difference – we’re not angry with a non-existent being – if anything, we’re angry at you for believing, yet NOT being angry at such a capricious, uncaring entity.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Wally Fry says:

          Hey arch. Why are you angry? That is a real question and is not any attempt to trick but a real question

          Like

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          The only thing I’m angry about is CS breaking the continuity of his own thread, then accusing me of doing it by answering his comment! Other than that, I’m not angry in the least. And that’s not a trick answer.

          COLORSTORM SEZ: ‘Their folly shall proceed no further……………………….’

          Read your first inhumane comment and insult to God and His word, and how each successive answer degenerates the content of the post. You create the slime pit, then accuse another of malfeasance.

          Like

        • Wally Fry says:

          I meant in general with Christians. You said you were angry at us for believing what we do. Or that you might be. Something like that. I am trying to understand you

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Hey Wally-
          Just a heads up, archx1 answered your ‘anger’ query;

          but it’s not getting air time here; just may have do a post in honor of the baseless and mindless charges..

          Liked by 1 person

        • Wally Fry says:

          I look forward to it my friend. Be nice to have an adult conversation.

          Liked by 1 person

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          You’ve just proved that everything I said was true – no matter, I pasted it onto Ark’s blog entry, to which Wally subscribes – at least Wally will get to see what a hippocrite you are.

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Good for you. At least people will get to see how ‘relevant ‘ your incessant comments are to the post in question.

          Like

        • Ashley says:

          It’s really very simple Arch.
          If something good happens, that’s because god did it. He’s omnipotent and Omni-benevolent so that’s why all those good things happen to you and/or all those incredibly miraculous things happen to you and/or other people.
          HOWEVER, if something bad happens, that’s because it’s your own fault. Or perhaps the devil did it. Or something like that. In any case, in NO WAY WHATSOEVER, can god be blamed for anything bad happening. EVER.

          So to sum up:
          Heads he wins (he gets all the credit for the good stuff)
          Tails he wins again (he gets none of the blame for any of the bad stuff)

          Christian logic 101.

          At least that’s how I understand it. But I defer to the experts Wally and CS.

          Like

        • Wally Fry says:

          Hello Ashley. Was that an effort to engage in conversation? If so that is great. But starting right off with sarcasm doesn’t do much to encourage real discussion.

          Like

        • Ashley says:

          Hi Wally,

          Is there something wrong in what I have said? Sarcasm aside, is it not the case that god is only responsible for good things and is never to be blamed for anything bad? Have you and CS (mostly CS) not spent the last 20-something-odd posts arguing that very case with Arch? I have noticed this pattern in every single conversation I have ever had with a devout and believing Christian.
          Is it the tone of my writing or the content that you object to? What does it matter how I say something or how I pose a question? What really matter is – Is it true or not? Can god (EDIT God) be blamed for anything bad happening? Yes or no?

          EDITOR TWO CENTS: There are many other blogs where your description of God as ‘god’ would be welcome. This is not one of them. And by the way, what do your last two comments have to do with a woman being killed by a lioness….

          Like

        • Wally Fry says:

          Ok fair enough. Not enough time to respond at the moment but we can talk about it later unless the host prefers to earlier. I am afraid work beckons

          Like

        • Wally Fry says:

          Yes, Ashley, the way we say things matters greatly. One of the issues I have in the blog world is that, almost universally, Christians are treated as if we are stupid, indoctrinated, slow, delusional, insane, or just plain stupid. So, yes dialogue is difficult under those circumstances.

          I am all for strongly defending my faith, as my Lord is everything to me, but generally speaking I think I make good faith efforts to not treat non believers as idiots. Not to say I won’t speak my mind, because I will. But sarcasm is not really a good starting point.

          As to the basic answer to your question. I believe God is control of all things. He either causes or allows all things to occur. I concede that this can be problematic and cannot be simply brushed aside.

          I will leave it at that for now, because if things go as they normally do, I will get creamed later over that statement and no response will ever be found sufficient.

          Peace.

          Like

        • Ashley says:

          CS asks: “And by the way, what do your last two comments have to do with a woman being killed by a lioness….”
          and then says: “Sad account here of this family, and I suppose some are thinking it is God’s fault…………….”

          That what my 2 last comments are addressing good sir. Do you not even pay attention to, or read your own writing??!?!?!?!

          And I don’t know what it is that takes so long to respond to my question. God is either to be blamed for bad things happening or he isn’t. Which is it? It’s a yes or no answer? What’s so difficult about this?

          And CS, are you seriously going to whine about me not capitalizing the G? As long as you capitalize it, what difference does it make if I do? Are you really that shallow and insecure that you’d resort to such tyrannical behavior? I though god and Christianity was supposed to make people more loving and tolerant and accepting? Apparently not!

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          This site is not a garden plot for Your seeds of false narratives.

          Or are you forgetting your childish pranks have been uncovered at other sites…

          What difference does it make? Hmm, where did I hear that….,

          There are plenty of blogs that will be happy to cater to your unbelief and endless charges, who will gladly endorse your false complaints about the God in heaven.

          And oh, maybe you missed the part where I ‘shun profane and vain babblings?

          Naming God with a little ‘g’ as if he is insignificant is profane.

          Like

        • Ashley says:

          So can I take that to mean CS, that it’s either your way or the highway? If I don’t get myself in line with your dictates, I’m not allowed to post on here anymore?

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          For God’s sake, no sane person would blame God that a woman was killed for testing a lioness.

          THAT was relevant to the post I wrote. You have been hanging around blogs where there are no rules of decency, and please do not argue this point.

          Do you have something to say about a woman being killed by a lion, sympathy, something relevant?

          Like

        • archaeopteryx1 says:

          no sane person would blame God that a woman was killed for testing a lioness.” – Is your deity unable to control lions? So the whole Daniel thing was false?

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          How about I do you a favor and not answer so as to not embarrass you further.

          Like

        • Ashley says:

          You’re an expert at not answering questions CS.
          And since you didn’t post my last comment (or are continuing to hold it in moderation), I will simply take it to mean that I am to act in accordance with your wishes and dictates if I wish to remain here.
          You seem to be just as tyrannical and overbearing as your Christian God. Coincidence? I think not.
          Please tell me more about Christianity and God and how it makes people more tolerant and accepting and caring and loving. You’ve provided a marvelous example so far.
          Of course, I already know you’re too much of a coward to print this (and probably even read it) but I figured I’d say it anyways.

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Yet here you are, a regular customer to the cowards den………… 😉

          Like

Leave a Reply

