A simple thanks

So there I was, looking up into a dazzling starry lit sky while pitch black, completely lost in the awe of God’s orderly and consistent universe, and I thought, ‘It’s been a while since a saw a…….’

Image result for rainbow

And as God is my witness, there it was, quicker than a speeding bullet and a thousand times faster than the blink of an eye:  the shooting star came and went before I could finish my sentence. Surely you could imagine my elation.

Growing up as a youngster, I saw them all the time. Must have meant I was always looking skyward at night. I met many people who have actually admitted to  never seeing one, and I almost find this unbelievable.  Anyway, that quick, the sky was once more alive with wonder, and if we care to think of such things, we may conclude that the Creator is well aware of what delights His creatures, and like the perfect Maestro, orchestrates a tune of eloquence impossible for man to ignore.

Then there was two nights ago. Storm clouds black as death, with the added colors of green and grey, dancing with the rain and hail, telling a story of temporary inconvenience, yet still full of majesty, the green landscape of earth standing out against the dull, when I thought, ‘Seems like a perfect setting for a rainbow.’

Minutes later the rain stopped, and like a dialed up prescription order, there it was. A rainbow of sheer magnificence, spanning one end of the earth to the other in the most exact roundness and circular display of God’s geometry. There were no words to describe such a sight. The display. The colors!

Imagine then, someone seeing such a thing, and having the inability to thank no one. Tell me that’s not a sad song. Tell me that’s not a life on the rockpile of hard labor, as to returning ‘no thanks’ for the unequalled awe and majesty of nature’s God.

Did God provide the shooting star and rainbow just for me? No. Yes. His glory is available to whosoever will, and I suppose many more looked at that time, in that place, but then again, maybe not. Doesn’t matter.  I saw them, and I’m telling you, thus does His handiwork have wings.

And by the way, rainbows do not evolve. Ouch. God has kept His word intact, and it is a sign of HIS covenant. So the rainbow is a gentle reminder that God’s word is good, He does not sleep, and He consistently proves He is actually for us.  His bow is not square, no, it is round, as in roundabout the throne, and a simple rainbow agrees with the shooting stars that our God is an awesome God.

Image result for shooting star

About ColorStorm

Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture.
Gallery | This entry was posted in God and science and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A simple thanks

  1. john zande says:

    So, you’re just ignoring the bolide impacts that have caused mass extinctions?

    Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      Hi jz,
      But your idea may be more suitable another time.

      I’m pretty sure I’m ignoring nothing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • john zande says:

        Precisely, you’re ignoring it.

        Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Ok, you are correct, Let me fix it jz:

          I’m positive I am not ignoring it.

          Like

        • john zande says:

          Exactly, and the louder you shout the more you’re ignoring it.

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Hey zande-
          Do you ever READ a post you are commenting on?

          You are so out of touch with the reality of what I presented, that to even answer you is somewhat of an embarrassment.

          Why don’t you sit still and wait for someone else to set you straight….

          I really do not have the tolerance for such nonsense.

          Like

        • john zande says:

          Of course I read. That is why I raised the fact that you are ignoring planet-wrecking bolide impacts.

          Of course, I understand why you are ignoring them. They ruin your little poetry shower.

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          @john

          Are your feelings hurt when one grain of sand rubs against another on a beach, or when a single raindrop loses its identity in the ocean? No big deal if there are fender benders in the heavens.

          Unlike you, I actually am able to comprehend the bigger picture, and understande that ALL things work together for good. But yeah, a colliding comet with EARTH, might be a problem if it gobbled it up, but don’t worry, there are far more serious issues to be concerned about.

          Like

        • john zande says:

          Fender benders? Didn’t you say you were “completely lost in the awe of God’s orderly and consistent universe”?

          The Cretaceous-Paleogene extinction event 66 million years ago killed off 75% of all species; the Triassic–Jurassic extinction event 150 million years earlier killed off 70% to 75% of all species; the Permian–Triassic extinction event 250 million years ago killed off a colossal 90% to 96% of all species, including over 80% of all insect genera; the Late Devonian extinction 374 million years ago killed off 70% of all species; and the Ordovician–Silurian extinction event 450 million years ago killed off 60% to 70% of all species.

          These are hardly “fender benders”

          But I understand, this completely ruins your pantomime, so i’ll just leave you to you delusion.

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Yes, I certainly spoke of God’s orderly and consistent universe. True as true can be.

          Yes, a colliding turkey hitting your car is a fender bender, so is a comet well within the realm of ‘order and consistency.’ As I say on a regular basis, if you do not give God the courtesy of existing, all else will escape you, thus you can hide behind your unprovable ‘250 million years, 374……….. 450……… etc…………’ Sad story really to be so occupied with such irrelevance.

          But you may want to take note of people who actually understood the context of this post, and see how believers speak with such certainty and harmony over God’s handiwork.

          Like

    • Citizen Tom says:

      I have a question for you. Is there anything that we cannot find an excuse to grump about?

      Thanks for adding a bit of amusement.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How beautiful,Colorstorm! I love it. Our Father absolutely will answer our little prayers, put things in our path just to delight us. Shooting stars and rainbows and cups of coffee. I am often bedazzled, delighted, but surprised too. He couldn’t have possibly bent the entire fabric of the universe just for me? He sure could! He is just that good, just that thoughtful, just that personal. He’s a Great Artist, we honor Him when we take note of His handiwork and find it pleasing.

    “When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?”

    Liked by 3 people

    • ColorStorm says:

      ‘We honor Him when we take note of His handiwork and find it pleasing.’ I think so too msb.

      And His handiwork arrives sometimes unannounced as you say. So He stands at the door and knocks…………………..

      Not in a battalion of force with tanks, but a gentle attention getter. 😉 He’s good like that.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. atimetoshare.me says:

    Maybe we should all keep our eyes on the skies a little more often.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. simply beautiful CS—wonder found in both storm and peace—as God’s hand rest in both 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wally Fry says:

    Looking up more often would solve a whole bunch of our attitude problems, for sure.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. LOL! Good grief,Colorstorm, how do you ever make it through a single day “ignoring the planet-wrecking bolide impacts?” I mean seriously,if there’s anything people need more of in their lives it must be a proper planet wrecking bolide impact!

    I bet you’re one of those people who actually eats french fries without once pondering the nature of potato blight, aren’t you? Boll weevels? No? 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  7. ColorStorm says:

    Yay. A voice of sanity from the ever and always illustrious mind of insanitybytes22!

    Too funny. Yeah, the next time you are contemplatting a batch of fries, enter a quizzical look toward the staff, then when asked: ‘Well?’ you could say, ‘Hmm, the Irish famine got me all twisted. Better make that a milk shake.’

    But tkx for the wit. Now I’ll have an even better motorcycle ride on the way to work hoping I’m not hit with Halley’s no. 2 special.

    Like

  8. Tricia says:

    Such a beautiful post to start my day with. God always provides to those willing to see. Not long ago, I had asked God to show me something, anything that reminded me who He was. A few minutes later He provided the most amazing sunrise sky I have ever seen. He never disappoints.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      Tkx Trish, and that’s s good distinction, we may be disappointed, but God never disappoints.

      And your asking God to ‘show you something’ is not a lack of faith, but like ‘show me thy glory, show me more of yourself.’

      And such a request is surely agreeable to His will. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  9. This post reminds me of the time I lived on the Navajo Reservation in northeastern Arizona.

    My next door neighbor and I were standing in my driveway marveling at the stormy weather.

    Then lo and behold, we looked straight up into a cloud formation that looked like a big butt as seen if you were looking up from inside a toilet bowl and someone just sat down to take care of business.

    Then a big rain drop hit me in the face.

    I didn’t realize until many years later that God had just peaced on me.

    I kid you not. This is a true story.

    Like

  10. ColorStorm says:

    Tkx SoM, but not the kind of thing I would attach to a throne………….

    Still, God can sanctify anything for His purpose eh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

