The need for speed!

So I have become a familiar face to the big place that warehouses all things for home repairs, you know, without mentioning names, the orange apron people. Endless summer projects, stealing every minute of my already action packed time with cement work, yardwork, electrical, roofing, plumbing, drywall, (paint can wait) and then, oh, there is the ‘real’ job, the one that pays the bills so I can buy more mortar….

Image result for old cash register checkout

But…. the thing that cracks me up without fail, is the guy/gal at checkout.  Invariably, they being idle and looking like they can use a customer, point us patrons to the ‘self checkout.’ Uh hello?

You are directing me to a place that will be your demise? One would think she would be slow to send us to the checkout that will seal her fate as unemployed. Look lady, I am doing you a favor. I prefer a human that actually opens their mouths when uttering words, instead of the ‘pleeze-pro-cede- to-the- scan-ner-and-in-sert-card………’ mindless bot, with you almost talking back to the stupid machine.

So instead of you being helped by ONE person who could have checked you out in 30 seconds, you stand foggy eyed because the machine doesn’t recognize the bar code of your elastomeric bucket of sealant. Nice. Ding ding, whistles are blowing, lights are flashing.

Caution! Danger! Step away from the register with your hands up! Yeah well, I am exaggerating, but the self checkout now involves 10 employees who are all clueless as to ringing up the sale that is supposed to be ‘easy’ for you!

So no lady, don’t be so fast to send me to the express lane, for you see, I am familiar with ‘easy.’  It’s like meeting your daughters new boyfriend who boasts of his art, and you say, ‘So, you are unemployed?’

Things are never as they seem, so when I patiently wait in a line of ten people to check out with a human, while the self checkout is empty, there is a reason. I can have my roof shingled, showered, and out to dinner before the tekkies figure out how to stop the beeps in the easy aisle!

And ye business owners, pay attention. Speed is not necessarily valuable. Sad thing though, we are living in a generation where young people would rather interact with machines. It’s a scary world out there, and people are being primed to gladly accept that deceptive tattoo/and/ or chip that promises the life of Riley.

Me? I’ll rebel as long as I can, and when I see you in the long line, we can chat while we shun the empty self checkout which will involve 7 employees and 2 managers.  Speed can wait, tempis fugit needs no help from me. Time flies as it is.

About ColorStorm

Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture.
This entry was posted in Homespun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The need for speed!

  1. Ha! So true. Well said. I so want a real person on the phone,in the grocery store, at the bank. My prayer is that we begin to catch on, wake up, that human interaction starts to have value again as a service. The way we’re going, we’re heading right for those little thumb implants.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. atimetoshare.me says:

    This is so funny, yet sadly so true. I still need human interaction in my dealings. I hope I kick the bucket before all is lost. Since I spent most of my career teaching young people how to communicate, I think this is a sad commentary on the future. We can’t solve problems, work as a team, engage each other, help one another, convince or persuade without the human interaction. Without it, we’re doomed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You sound like one of those old farts who is also fond of using cash money instead of plastic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      Au contraire, just one who is fond of observing human nature! Plastic has its place of course, but its the bot thing that gets my goat.

      Like

      • Storm,

        Your situation seems so strange. I frequent a store of the same company as yours, but the customer service is remarkable!

        I always complement everyone for their great customer service. They are so friendly and well trained.

        Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          You are making my point SoM. Customer service is good………….when you don’t have to mess with their machines .yourself.

          Take a closer look next time, and look at all the empty lanes, and how the ‘self junk’ is promoted.

          Their is a trend worldwide, one can’t deny.

          Like

        • Storm,

          The self-check out is really easy to use. You just have to practice it a few times.

          Buck up, Old Man and show that damned machine who’s boss!

          Like

  4. this is so sadly true and I’ve experienced this at this same store, albeit a different state…
    and at other stores…as I watch a sea of the workforce at various places passing off customers for the very job they were hired to do…but passing them, me, we, us off to the self serve as if they are too busy and too consumed with standing and being idle….
    it is just another microcosm of our slow demise…..

    Like

  5. Elihu says:

    Tempus Fugit—Indeed! As soon as I read that I thought of the Mayor’s wife in the Music Man. I’m with you, I think our machines are taking away our ability to truly interact with people face to face, learn patience, and the ever-important skill of listening. I usually avoid self-checkout unless I have one item and one item only.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Citizen Tom says:

    I printed this one for my lady. I am sure she will like it. Me? Up to a point I like gizmos. I am perfectly happy with my old flip phone. An iphone strikes me as to complicated and expensive. I like my machines to be designed for a purpose. When they have hundred purposes, and I only need one, that can be exasperating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      I’m with ya CT, but it is just so darn bizarre to walk up to an idle cashier, and they point you to a ‘self checkout.’ And yeah, maybe they are flippin through their i-phones too, and don’t want the distraction. lol

      The irony is off the charts.

      (printout? way cool)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Citizen Tom says:

        That part is bizarre. Never been pointed to the “self checkout”. Usually only use the self checkout at the Giant and Walmart, and those folks seem to understand without being told that if you want to use the “live checkout” that is what you want.

        Liked by 1 person

        • That’s been my experience too.

          And if you have trouble at the self-check out someone appears tout suite to resolve the problem.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Citizen Tom says:

          Pretty much the way it works.

          Frankly, the standard job of a checkout clerk is tough. Seen lots of them with carpal tunnel. How monitoring folks at self checkout machines will work out remains to be seen.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Citizen,

          I think self-checkout is intended to clear the lines for people who actually need human help.

          I have found that when I go to pick up something at Walmart, I prefer the self-checkout.

          Liked by 1 person

        • ColorStorm says:

          So quick question for you:

          You will be agreeable to accepting the ‘new and improved modern version’ of the chip implant, or bar code on your forehead, to lessen the ‘already quik’ self checkout from 30 seconds, down to 4 seconds flat?

          Hmmm. You have just gained 26 seconds to your life. What a savings at the expense of accepting the widely popular mark of the beast, clothed as modern technology and purely ‘for your shopping pleasure………….’

          This is where its headed doncha know; so sez holy writ.

          Like

        • ColorStorm says:

          Good gravy Silence. It is actually my God given brain which is able to reason and articulate the obvious.

          Hallucinations though? A mere 30 years ago folks would have thought you insane if you mentioned ‘self’ checkout.’

          As to your idea that God does not know what he wrote about……………… 😉

          I believe scripture SoM. Every word. Our words? Eh, subject to failure. Not His. His word is forever settled in heaven. I’m sorry you find fault.

          Like

  7. Tricia says:

    This is good stuff CS! I’m laughing though because I am one of those people that gets annoyed in slow lines and jump at the chance to do self check out if I don’t have a lot of items. The state of California unfortunately has nixed them out of our grocery stores due to union pressure so once again we Californians are denied a personal choice.

    I used to work at the orange apron company at one of their regional offices. The workers there really do bleed orange, tons of company loyalty which is nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Citizen Tom says:

      That is the sort of foolishness that gives unions a bad name. Why is that sort of interference in private commerce legal? When it clearly does not affect public safety or the rights of anyone, what gives the government the right to stick its nose into the matter? All it does is make the cost to the consumers higher.

      Just think of all the jobs technology has eliminated. Let’s go back to the days for before the plow was invented. We can dig furrows with sticks, cast seeds by hand, hope the locusts don’t eat everything, harvest by hand, thresh the grain by casting into the air, …. In other words, like our ancestors we can spend our days constantly at work, suffer regular bouts of famine and disease, and just barely get by, unless, of course we are one of the big wigs making all the stupid rules.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Tricia says:

        Oh I know, and living here in the Land of Fruit and Unions, you see this stuff all the time. The politicians claimed it was because they were concerned about teenagers being able to game the system somehow and buy beer, but everyone knows it was a sop to the grocery unions. Progress they call it.

        Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      Since we’re on the topic T, you would appreciate the frustration when a customer needs help finding a screw ie, he will invariably see a thousand other customers, but not one with the orange apron. (or when you know where the drill bits are, you see a hundred employees) lol

      Then when help arrives, you hear, ‘sorry, I’m from carpeting, I’ll get you help…..’

      In which case you wonder, ‘why then did you respond to the page???’ haha

      ………..then when you find your one item, you need to show your photo ID, cuz messin with screws is a dangerous business. (ok so I embellished)

      Liked by 2 people

      • Citizen Tom says:

        The government trusts you with pointy objects? WOW!!!!!
        😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • ColorStorm says:

          Now there is a point to be taken. Just think how many ‘dangerous tools’ could be put on the ‘banned’ list for possible terroristic usage,

          screw GUNS, nail GUNS, razor blades, carpets (for bombing) pencils…. geez, all courtesy of your local stores.

          Fortunately CT, I have yet to be carded for grass seed. A real danger ya kno, I could always put it in someones cereal. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

      • Tricia says:

        Lol CS, yes I can so relate! Isn’t that always the case? Don’t be messing’ with screws, or power tools I say….;)

        Like

Leave a Reply

