A scouts reminder

What part of

BOY

is ambiguous?

Image result for boy scout motto

Boy Scout Oath or Promise

On my honor, I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake and morally straight.


Note that the Boy Scout Oath has traditionally been considered to have three promises. Those three promises are delineated by the semicolons in the Oath, which divide it into three clauses. The three promises of the Scout Oath are, therefore:

  • Duty to God and country,
  • Duty to other people, and
  • Duty to self

DUTY TO GOD AND COUNTRY: Your family and religious leaders teach you to know and serve God. By following these teachings, you do your duty to God.

Men and women of the past worked to make America great, and many gave their lives for their country. By being a good family member and a good citizen, by working for your country’s good and obeying its laws, you do your duty to your country. Obeying the Scout Law means living by its 12 points.

DUTY TO OTHER PEOPLE: Many people need help. A cheery smile and a helping hand make life easier for others. By doing a Good Turn daily and helping when you’re needed, you prove yourself a Scout and do your part to make this a better world.

DUTY TO SELF: Keeping yourself physically strong means taking care of your body. Eat the right foods and build your strength. Staying mentally awake means learn all you can, be curious, and ask questions. Being morally straight means to live your life with honesty, to be clean in your speech and actions, and to be a person of strong character.


Boy Scout Law

A Scout is:

  • Trustworthy,
  • Loyal,
  • Helpful,
  • Friendly,
  • Courteous,
  • Kind,
  • Obedient,
  • Cheerful,
  • Thrifty,
  • Brave,
  • Clean,
  • and Reverent.

Boy Scout Motto

Be Prepared!


Boy Scout Slogan

Do a Good Turn Daily!


The Outdoor Code

As an American, I will do my best to –

  • Be clean in my outdoor manners
  • Be careful with fire
  • Be considerate in the outdoors, and
  • Be conservation minded.

(U.S. Scouting service project)

Adden.  And my .02 cents.  Gotta love the mention of the obvious: God.  And admitting ‘girls’ into an exclusive male group…….will weaken both. Females will be less ……………and males will be less…………..aw nevermind.


About ColorStorm

Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture.
This entry was posted in Daily news and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A scouts reminder

  1. The left infiltrates and then destroys any American institution they can get their hands on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ColorStorm says:

    Yep, and getting worse.

    I’m still crackin up. Did you catch the line about ‘making America great…………………….’

    Like

  3. tildeb says:

    CS, I see you keep only Law #12. The rest needs a bit of work.

    On a different note, Canada has girls in Boy Scouts for a long time and we have many women as its Leaders and it’s still very popular. I’m sure Americans will figure out why this is a Good Thing eventually. Maybe if you drop Law #12

    Like

    • ColorStorm says:

      Soooo….. you have ‘girls’ in ‘boy scouts? That’s nice, what part of ‘boy’ don’t you understand? Oh wait, you probably think a ‘girl’ should be allowed in a ‘boys’ bathroom too.

      Try to justify it all you want, Betty Crocker is not Davey Crockett, and Jackie Joyner is not Jackie Robinson, as much as you would like it to be so.

      And yes, reverence is courteous of truth. Popular opinion has always been over rated.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m wondering if this means I can just start self identifying as a Cub Scout? I like naps,cookies and milk, crafts. It sounds like my calling! 🙂

    I had a chuckle about the Girls Scouts not being real excited about this nonsense. One can a hardly blame them.

    Liked by 2 people

    • ColorStorm says:

      Back in the day, a young man, aka boy, had no radar of girl in their troops. Why should they? They have sisters and mothers.

      People who equate the sexes as equal do damage to both. It’s lumberjack for goodness sake, not lumberjill; (I know I know there are exceptions……….) and her name is Miley Cyrus, not Mikey Cyrus, as much as I do not like her goods, but still, why these people feel the need to ‘create’ their own warped organizations to liberate themselves is also nauseating.

      I’ll vote against you becoming a cub……..and take that as a compliment msb. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. hatrack4 says:

    I am an Eagle Scout. I never liked camping other than the challenge of ‘roughing it.’Of course, I went camping to gain the next rank. I loved scouting because of my scoutmaster who was a second father to me. He had Cerebral Palsy, but it never slowed him down until later in life. I learned honor and duty to God and Country from and through him. I was also a cubmaster, scoutmaster, roundtable commissioner, camp director,etc. as an adult. I do nothing with scouting today. They have sold out in the name of political correctness. As a cub scout, I was “square”. We’ve forgotten what that means and we do not live by it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ColorStorm says:

      @hat

      Nice account. Sounds like an all make club………..men teaching boys who will then become good men. No girls allowed. lol

      God bless the ladies, but for goodness sake, while certain men can knit, the quilting bee is not a place for them at the table. Men need not apply. Is this harsh? Nope, just the facts ma’am.

      Like

Leave a Reply

